Voice of the Bible

I am not just some book that is on the back of a shelf,
Nor am I some book covered in dust on the table you left;
You didn’t even want me when I was your graduation gift,
And you have no idea on how I really uplift.

Why does it hurt so bad for you to pick me up and read?
Don’t you realize that deep inside I have all you need?
I am like a textbook solving your problems like you did in math,
If I am stepping on your toes, it’s because you’re on the wrong path.

Why can’t you treat me like you treat your credit cards or your cellphones?
I mean, you know you’ve got to have them when you leave home.
Tell me…When will you get the bigger picture?
Just give me a chance to teach you all about the One who holds your future.

I am the main purpose of helping you built a strong foundation,
And I can help you learn about who is your salvation.
Once you open me up and read, you will learn a lot of lessons,
And no matter what battles you are facing, I’m still your secret weapon.

Never mind about what the gossipers say, I’m the one you’d be sleeping with,
I can even be your medicine to be used as directed when you’re feeling sick.
Did you know that I’m like a cookbook with the ingredients to bake a cake?
Trust me, you have no idea how good it is to your taste.

I come in all various colors and sizes based on my looks,
And, yes, I am the book that has a grand total of 66 books.
Like the American and Christian flags, you should pledge your allegiance
to me: God’s Holy Word,
His Word is as beautiful as its own Author.

I am well known as the Book of Love and it’s just like a rose,
My pages are rose petals when the beauty of His love unfolds.
Unlike other books you read, it only informs you,
But I’m just like a mirror, I can only transform you!

Now that I’ve told you everything about myself, I am what you need,
Don’t hesitate to stop what you’re doing. Pick me up, open me up, and read.
Regardless of what version I come in, I am your only choice for survival,
And to you, I am your biggest gift, your Holy Bible.

Written by: Wykeshia L. McCallister 5/22/17

Leave a Reply

