Check YOUR Own Grammar before You Judge Mine

Truth was everyone is so quick to judge about one another but not really looking at the bigger picture of making sure their hands are cleaning before they started pointing their fingers at other people. But when it comes to grammar that really took the cake!

Now, to be totally honest, I have been underestimated by numerous of people telling me that I have bad grammar. Ever since I first started blogging, I had a blogger commenting that she is touched by my story but my grammar is terrible. I didn’t really understand it because I really became so upset about what she commented. But that was just the beginning.

For the second, I was told once again that I have bad grammar and this time, it’s coming from social media groups I was commenting about a TV show I tuned in every Tuesday. Another individual was comparing my comment to somebody else’s comment and I became upset even more. My flesh wants me to tell her saying, “Look here, Miss Know It All! This isn’t a classroom. This isn’t school. I don’t need to be corrected” As much as I want to do something to hurt the person, I couldn’t even do it because I have too big of a heart to do a foolish like that.

Being told that I have bad grammar made me feel like I was doubting myself and thinking that I was dumb. I was sad I needed to talk to someone that truly understands me. On that same day, I decided to reach out to my former English and I told her about my problem and I asked her does having bad grammar made me look like I am less than anybody.

She taught me a valuable lesson and that was Grammar is something I can improve. It does not make me less intelligent than the next person. However, people look at me differently when I use improper grammar. That really make sense.

To everyone who were told that you have bad grammar, let me encourage you with some words of wisdom.

When your last breath arrives, grammar can do nothing. It isn’t fair that people judge other people by their grammar so it’s best for them to check their grammar because they’ll never know what they’re missing. Look on the bright side. David Ogilvy said, “I don’t know the rules of grammar you’re trying to persuade people to do something, or buy something, it seems to me you should use their language, the language in which they think. We try to write in the vernacular.” No offense to him, but that’s a strong point.

As I close, please know and understand that your grammar reflects your image. Good or bad, you have made an impression. And like all impressions, you are in total control.

Leave a Reply

