Tips of Being A REAL Graphic Designer

The word “Creative” is what you’ve heard and you’ve seen being put into action very often. But that’s basically what a graphic designer does. Now, by me being a successful businesswoman, I would like to give you some of MY helpful tips on how to be a REAL graphic designer.

TIP #1 GET TO KNOW ABOUT GRAPHIC DESIGNS

The best way to learn about being a graphic designer is to get knowledge. For me as an example,
I majored in Office System Technology and I was introduced to Desktop Publishing which is one of the class qualifications for me to graduate. It’s a great way to learn for a graphic designer to take class like that in order to get into the world of creative designers.

TIP #2 HAVE THE SKILLS OF BEING CREATIVE
As an entrepreneur, I’ve done numerous of thing to have that kind of skill. In case you didn’t know, you can learn how to design different things on the Internet, take Blingee, for example. Blingee is one of the websites everybody can enjoy. You can put pictures on top of pictures as much as you like. But it’s only by motions (graphics interchange format). lavender & pink
If you have social media like Facebook, the app called Pizap is another best way to create different things, too. See the picture below?
That’s what I created to brand my best friend’s business! It’s just practice– practice makes perfect.
Simply The Dime Twitter Cover

TIP #3 PICTURE PERFECT
Taking pictures on a camera is NOT the only way to collect photos. You can go to Google, Bing or Yahoo to search for the perfect picture you’d love to design. WARNING #1: Whenever you search for picture, you must make sure you don’t collect the ones that has a copyright name on it because when creating graphics, especially if you’re an entrepreneur, you don’t want use somebody else’s picture to your project.

TIP #4 PUT YOUR NAME ON YOUR PROJECTS AT ALL TIMES
If you’re an entrepreneur that loves designing graphics, putting your name on your stuff is a MUST! It’s a real way of protecting what’s rightfully your so that no one won’t steal them from you. Every time I post my work on my blog or social media or even branding somebody’s business, my name is ALWAYS be on all of my work.
my design

TIP #5 DO NOT ALLOW OTHERS TO MESS WITH YOUR IDEAS
Understand that you will be faced with a lot of challenges dealing with other people especially other graphic designers. WARNING #2: Beware of other designers that will try and take your place by commenting disrespectful things on your work. For instance, I have come across my best friend’s business page on Instagram (just checking things out), a certain female graphic designer commented on MY craft saying, “Hello! I would love to design gfx for you and your brand!”

my design (2)(This is my work the individual had commented)

Now that really shook me and I was a little upset because that individual should’ve known better than to make a comment like that on my work. Of course my friend knew about it and she avoided her. That led me to believe that I AM the graphic designer she chose and she had to make it crystal clear to everybody on social media and on her business. To all of of the designers out there, here’s my advice. When you are in partnership with somebody’s company, do NOT allow anyone to roll the dice when it comes to your work with your name on it. Period. Point blank.

TIP #6 UNDERSTAND THE PROCESS OF BEING A GRAPHIC DESIGNER
It’s true with what others say, “Turn you passions into $$$.” Well, to keep it real, to me, success is not about money. It’s about what I design. I mean, I have to remind myself who I am. I AM A GRAPHIC DESIGNER, NOT A MIRACLE WORKER…I can’t make bad ideas look good. Not that I’m being religious, but it only took 6 days for God to create the world and everything He does is because HE IS GOOD! As for me, I don’t care how long it takes for me to create designs, I won’t stop at nothing to get it looking great. I want it to look perfect. That’s what it’s called being a perfectionist.

So now that I have given you my helpful tips and lessons about what I’ve experienced of being a graphic designer, I encourage you to allow God to create you a clean heart so that you create beautiful things that not only comes from your heart to reach the hearts, but come from the Lord above. He’s the painter and we’re the canvases. Stay creative and humble!! Real Talk!!

Yours truly,
Mz. Keshia

One thought on “Tips of Being A REAL Graphic Designer

Leave a Reply

