First God, First Love

*This story is dedicated to all the single ladies who are struggling of being single.*

Once there was a lovely young lady named Sapphira. She was the most beautiful lady with a kind heart and she is also a single woman without any children and a baby daddy. Even though she felt like she’s pretty but she was sad to think that she’s not pretty enough to be a wife to a husband.

One day Sapphira went to work at the company of her own called Equal Creations. She was a talented hardworking woman. She designed many graphics, do business cards, design logos, and much more. Each day she spent dealing with her clients, her co-worker and best friend Sarai passes by to greet her and help her with the business. As time flew by, Sarai offered Sapphira to join her for lunch.

“Say, Sapphy, come go with me to get something to eat. I know you’re hungry,” said Sarai.

“Mmm, I don’t feel up to it, girl, I gotta finish printing out these two documents in 15 minutes,” said Sapphira. “Girl, I got that taken care of,” says Sarai. “You can’t be all tied up in your office all day long on an empty stomach.” Sapphira groaned, “Oh, alright. Let me get me purse.” So Sapphira and Sarai went out to lunch at Chilli’s. While they’re enjoying their lunch, they both start having a conversation.

“Say, you know that I’m getting married to Abram next month, right?” Sarai said.

“Yep,” answered Sapphira. “So I wanted to know if you can be my bridesmaid,” said Sarai. Sapphira sighed, “I never been in a wedding as a bridesmaid before so that would be an honor to be your bridesmaid.” “Goody,” smiled Sarai. “Why, Sapphy, you don’t seemed to be a bit pleased,” she said with a concerned look on her face. “I am pleased. Really I am,” said Sapphira. “What’s on your mind, girl? You know you can always talk to me about anything,” said Sarai. “It’s nothing. It’s just that I wish I had me husband, sis,” Sapphira frowned. “Oh, girl, don’t be looking all down and out like that,” says Sarai. “You’ll be a great wife someday so you just got to be patient.” “I know, sis, I know,” says Sapphira “I don’t want to rush love so I have choice but to be patient.”

For a few hours later, Sapphira went home to her mother’s house.    Her mother was in the kitchen cooking dinner. “Hey, mama,” said Sapphira. “Hey, sweetie,” replied Mama. “How’s work?”

“Busy, busy, busy,” Sapphira. “That’s alright, at least you’re blessed,” said Mama “Yep, you’re right, Mama,” said Sapphira. While they’re eating dinner, Sapphira’s mother noticed how quiet her daughter has been. “You’re eating so quietly, my dear. Is something troubling you?” she asked. “No, Mama,” answered Sapphira. “Sapphire, my dear, please. I raised you better than that and I’m a concerned Mom,” said Mama. “Well, Ma, my best friend Sarai asked to be her Bridesmaid in her wedding next month and I’ve accepted it,” said Sapphira. “What wonderful news! When will she get married?” asked Mama. “During Valentine’s Day,” said Sapphira. “Oh. To who?” “Abram, my classmate I met in college.”

As Sapphira frowned, her mother said, “Now don’t go looking all sad like that. In due time, God’s gonna bless you with a wonderful husband, too.” “When, mama?” asked Sapphira. “I’ve been saved, I’ve prayed, I’ve read the Bible, and I’ve been going to church doing His work. When will my husband ever gon’ come?” “In God’s timing, sweetie, not yours,” says Mama. “God’s timing s valuable.” “You know, I’m trying not to give up on HIM, but I felt like if God would just go ahead on and give me a husband right now, I will be so happy,” explained Sapphira. “Now, you see. That’s where a lot of people makes their mistake. You don’t get a husband to make yourself feel better. Get yourself together first then you can think about a husband,” explained Mama.

Sapphira thought more and more her mother’s words. She realized that she need to spend more time praying to God for the husband she desires. That night, Sapphira took a warm bath, rolled up her hair, said her prayers, went to bed, and typing on her cellphone. Until at last, Sapphira felt fast asleep and began to dream.

(Sapphira’s Dream begins)

Early one morning, Sapphira woke up, took a shower, get dressed, had breakfast, and went off to work. As she was typing up a document on her computer, there was a tall, handsome gentleman passing by her office. Sapphira smelled an amazing fragrance of cologne and she looked up and saw the gentleman approaching in her office. “Hello, Ms. Sapphira,” said the gentleman. “Hello,” replied Sapphira. “May I help you?” “Yes, I would to know if you know how to do a resume. My sister wanted one so she can get a job,” he explained. “Certainly,” she said. “Um, what is your name?” “I’m Elah,” he answered.

So Sapphira and Elah became business partners and the business was going smoothly. But as for Sapphira’s best friend, Sarai, she was’nt feeling to happy about Sapphira doing business with Elah. “I really want to be happy Sapphira but there’s something about this Elah that doesn’t seem right.” Sarai thought. For a moment, Elah offered Sapphira to go out on a date. So she agreed and she became so excited she had to tell Sarai. “Say, girl, I got me a date!” said Sapphira. “Really? With who?” asked Sarai.

“Elah,” answered Sapphira. “What’s up with you and this Elah, anyway? I mean, do you think smelling his cologne makes you think he’s the one for you?” asked Sarai with a serious look on her face. “What, are you jealous? I mean, I had never been jealous with you and Abram so why you being like this?” asked Sapphira. “No, I’m jealous,” says Sarai. “I’m only concerned about you and the decisions you’re making towards a guy like Elah.” Sapphira sighed, “Look, I appreciate your concerns but I’m happy as I am and so should you be happy for me,”says Sapphira. Without another word, Sapphira walked to her car and Elah was getting in the car and went home to get ready for their date.

Their date night was amazing for them at Red Lobster. After their dinner date, Elah took her to his house to sit and chill in the hot tub together. While they’re in the hot tub, they started to have more conversation with each other. “You know, I really like you, Sapphira. And you are a beautiful,” Elah said. “Thank you, I think you are one fine guy. And I really like you, too,” she said. “As they looked into each other’s eyes, they knew they were madly in love with each other. When things got so intense, Sappira and Elah started kissing each other on the lips.

One Saturday, Sapphira introduced Elah to her mother, but her mother became very suspicious. “How long have you known my daughter, young man,” asked Mama. “A quite of few weeks,” said Elah. “Mmph,” scoffed Mama. Sapphira didn’t feel comfortable by the way her mother acted towards Elah.

A couple of hours later, after Elah left, Sapphira and her mother started arguing about Elan. “Sapphira, what would you thinking? You shamed me,” said mama. “Ma, why can’t you be happy that I’ve found the man of my dreams?” asked Sapphira. “You’re being foolish, Sapphira,” scolded Mama. “Just because you met a man at work don’t mean he’s the one for you, and you know better than that.” “Look, I don’t need you judging me on how I should my life,” Sapphira snapped. “I have the right to love whoever I please!” “How dare you raise your voice at me?!” said Mama. “I am your mother and I’m telling you this for your own good. Elan is not the right one for you. He’s not chosen by God.” “Ma, Elan’s God-fearing. He knows the Bible, so what?” said Sapphira. “Sapphira, listen to me please,” says Mama. “Just because Elan knows the Bible doesn’t mean he’s a saint. Is he saved?” Sapphira shook her head. “I didn’t think so,” said Mama.

The next day, Sapphira moved in with Elan and they ended up being a relationship. Sapphira spent a lot of time with Elan than she does with her best friend Sarai and her business. Things seems to be good until something evil is about to happen, and Sapphira will learn a bitter lesson about being desperate to have a man who is a devil in disguise.

One afternoon, Sapphira came home from the grocery store with her hands full groceries. When she opened the door, she called Elah out to let him know she’s home and help her with packages. There was no response. Sapphira became very suspious. As quiet as the house is, she heard a squeaking sound coming from the stairs. So she decided to do an investigation. Sapphira walked quietly up the stairs and before she can do anything, she Elah seducing another woman.

Elah and the woman looked up at Sapphira in shocked. It hurted Sapphira so bad, she ran away and Elah yelled, “Sapphira, wait! SAPPHIRA!!” Sapphira drove away in rage. Her eyes were red, tears were flying from her eyes and got far away from Elah’s house.

Sapphira hid herself in a hotel without any contact with anyone. She weeps and said, “What have I done? I deserve it! If I haven’t been so stupid, none of this would’ve happened! Mama’s right and Sarai’s right. I should’ve NEVER fallen in love with Elan in the first place. Now I will have to suffer the consequences. I deserve to be punished, lied on, and cheated on because of my foolish pride.”

But then, there was a soft quiet voice speaking to Sapphira. “No, you are not,” it said. “Who are you?” she asked. “I am the Lord God, your Father in heaven.” He answered. “Don’t be afraid, Sapphira. I have been where you’ve been after this happened.” “But why this?” she asked. “I allow things to happen for a reason. It’s my way of teaching you lessons so you won’t be tempted to do it all over again,” God explains. “Don’t you think you’re too beautiful to be with someone like Elan?” “No, I don’t. Not after I’ve been so stupid and too blind to see the truth in all this,” she said. “And for you to call me Beautiful? Look at me! I’m nothing but a foolish girl and you THIS ‘Beautiful’?!“  God stretch out His finger, gently lifted her chin up, and said, “Yes, Sapphira. I do. In spite of your wrongs, you ARE beautiful! I crafted and made you in the image of ME. No matter, you are forgiven. You are too beautiful to be lied on, cheated on, and to be disrespected. I know that you are heartbroken but you must know how to treat it as a blessing, and you must understand that it’s my way of rescuing you from the wrong man. Be thankful for that.”

 

“I thank you for that, but I still wish I have someone to love me, cherish me, and value me like a queen as I deserved,” said Sapphira. “I know what you can do,” says God. “You can start with me. Start by getting to know Me. You don’t have to worry about love because as long as I’m existing you WILL be loved. You don’t even have to worry about being single because I’m saving you for someone special. What’d you say?” “Well, I give you a try and see how it’ll work out,” replied Sapphira.

 

For a few hours, Sapphira spend her time with God. She prayed 3 times a day, attended church every Sunday as possible, and her whole Christian life was falling into place perfectly. Sapphira’s life-changing experience has brought great joy and happiness to her mother and Sarai. As for her business, it expands.  And as for Elan? He was never seen again. He got arrested for battery against former girlfriend, drugs, and perjury. Furthermore, Elan spent all of his life behind bars.

 

A month later, Sapphira was completing her work to go pay her bills on her way to lunch. As soon as she get to her car, Sarai stopped her to introduce her to someone. “Sapphy, wait a minute. I have somebody I want you to meet,” Sarai said. “Sarai, I’ve been down that road before, and I’m not going through it again,” said Sapphira. “Girl, could you trust me on this, please? Can’t you just say Hello? (whispering) We need his funding,” said  Sarai. “All right,” says Sapphira. “Where is he?” As soon as Sarai looked behind Sapphira, there approached a nice-looking gentleman. Sapphira couldn’t believe her eyes. “Hi. I’m sorry for bothering you. I’m Paul, and Sarai and her husband has told me everything about you,” said the man. “I was wondering if you would to get some coffee?” Sapphira couldn’t help but smile.

 

(be on the lookout for part two)

Leave a Reply

