True Meaning of Being an Independent Woman

Remember the certain songs that talks about Independent Woman from: Salt N Pepa’s Independent, Destiny’s Child Independent Woman,  Webbie’s Independent, and Ne-Yo’s Miss Independent?  Well, in that case, what does the word “Independent” really mean spiritually? Let’s get real because the class is in session.

Being independent is not about what you do to get what you want such as the finer material things. It’s mainly about including God in everything that you need or want by going through a lot of things to get to where you are right now. I mean, let’s be real about this. Instead of bragging about what you bought, and what you have, start by giving God all the credit. You might be thinking for one minute that I am jealous when I say : “Where was God when you got that new car, new house, new husband, and a new job? All I hear is what you got.” No matter what you got, you have got to give God ALL of the credit because you ought to know for yourself that His bank account is limitless.

According to the song lyrics from Destiny’s Child’s Independent Woman, Beyonce sung

“Ladies, it ain’t easy being independent”. Well, guess what Mahalia Jackson said, “It is easy to be independent, when you’ve got money. But to be independent when you haven’t got a thing, that’s the Lord’s test.” Now that’s real!

As a God-fearing single lady, I not only depend on myself, I depend on God because I have the Hebrews 11:1 to know that I have the ability to do anything through Christ that strengthens me (Philippians 4:13). To be honest, I’d rather struggle to get everything I have than to let someone give it to me. To prove a point, I have learned the same kind of lesson that Disney Princess Tiana has learned: “You’ve got to dig a little deeper in order to found what you need.”

As I previously said before and I am not ashamed to say it again, The Bible says that Faith without work is dead, and it means you can’t just sit around praying. You’ve got to get up and do something. I mean, if there’s ANYTHING you want or need in life, do like Mary Mary: GO GET IT!! But DON’T wait for ANYBODY to give it to you.

When it comes to men, ladies, be smart enough to use your common sense to DO NOT use them to get what you want or need in life. Be a go-getter, not a gold-digger! I mean, it’s best for us ladies to look for good men who fears God, have goals, ambitions and intelligence because ‘swag’ isn’t going to pay the bill 10 years from now. Men are not bankers so stop using them to take care of your financial problems. Be independent enough to make your own money, it’s just that simple!  Josephine Baker learned this lesson from her mother so I’ll teach it to you, ladies. “If you want something done, don’t go trusting no man to do it.” That’s the same lesson I have to learn for myself because the smartest thing that a woman can EVER learn, is to NEVER need a man.

Now that I have define the true meaning of being an independent woman, I will close with the Word of God that will give you a word of encouragement of becoming a true independent Godly woman: Live as people who are free, not using your freedom as a cover-up for evil, but living as servants of God (1 Peter 2:16) .

 

 

God is Love,

Wykeshia

Leave a Reply

